Visit Page
Skip to content

McLean County Green Awards 2022

The Ecology Action Center presents the annual McLean County Green Awards to recognize the efforts of individuals or organizations working to improve our local environment. Nomination deadline is noon on Monday, January 3, 2022. The recipients of these awards will be announced on February 9, 2022.

The McLean County Recycling and Waste Reduction AwardMcLean County Recycling and Waste Reduction Award NOMINATION FORM) identifies businesses, schools or organizations with outstanding recycling programs or waste reduction efforts.  Nominations are accepted for any recycling or waste reduction project, but areas of growing interest include source reduction of hazardous wastes or zero-waste programs.

In tribute to early EAC Director Anne McGowan who passed away suddenly in March of 2015, we renamed the World of Difference Award in her honor.  The Anne McGowan Making a World of Difference Award (Anne McGowan Making a World of Difference Award NOMINATION FORM) recognizes outstanding projects, activities, or individuals in McLean County who promote environmental awareness or natural resource conservation.  Michelle Covi, former Director of the Ecology Action Center and friend to Anne McGowan, described Anne’s ability to inspire others.

Anne was a catalyst for action. She was energetic and never hesitated to get her hands dirty. Her natural curiosity and love of the natural world fueled her passion for wildlife exploration and preservation. She shared her love with children and adults alike when she conducted nature walks, wildflower walks, and nature programs. She inspired and nurtured life-long dedication to environmental awareness and conservation in children, college students, and adults whose lives she touched.

Anne McGowan World of Difference Award Recipients McLean County Recycling and Waste Reduction Award Recipients
2019 Henry Brockman Bloomington-Normal Terracycle: Amie Keeton, Janet Guaderrama, Macia Nagy, Melanie Ziomek, and St. Luke Union Church
2018 Sherrie Snyder of the Wild Ones Julie McCoy, School Nutrition Director at District 87
2017 Perry Mayer – Director of Building Operations, YWCA of McLean County Dr. Tom Bierma, ISU Environmental Health Department
2016 Jeff Pritts – General Manager, Bloomington-Normal Marriott Bloomington Normal Marriott
2015 Andrew Johnson – General Manager, Connect Transit Home Sweet Home Ministries
2014 Carolyn and Roy Treadway Westminster Village Green Team
2013 WGLT’s “Good to Go Commuter Challenge” program Jewel-Osco
2012 Sugar Grove Nature Center ISU Student Bio-diesel project
2011 Derek McCracken, Myra Gordon, Anne McGowan, and Michelle Covi Illinois State University Farm Compost Program
2010 Karen Lowery – Bloomington High School, Brian Fitzgerald- YouthBuild McLean County First Christian Church – Disciples of Christ and Recycling Furniture for Families
2009 Nick Jordan Jerry Swartz, founder of the McLean County plastic garden pot recycling program
2008 Susan Cantrell Hudson Ag 4-H Club
2007 Margaret Hollowell and Ornatrix Hair Salon owner Trisha Wulf Brigham Elementary School Living Green Team and Bill’s Key and Lock Shop
2006 Mike Callahan- Director of the Bloomington-Normal Water Reclamation District Eric and Marty Payne and Caroline Wade
2005 Drake Zimmerman- Friends of Kickapoo Creek Dallas Wickenhauser, R. B. White, Inc., Simon and Sui Fong, Orient Gourmet, and Tracy Cunanan